
 Volunteer firefighters or volunteer ambulance 
workers with at least five (5) years of enrolled service 
may qualify for a partial real property tax exemption. 

 

 Under a New York State law, Nassau County and 
participating cities, towns, villages and special districts 
are permitted to offer eligible volunteers a partial tax 
exemption of the assessed property value. 

 

 This pamphlet was produced to provide you with 
an outline of the legal requirements that must be met in 
order to determine your eligibility under New York State 
Real Property Tax Law.  

 

 Please review the information and take advantage 
of this property tax break.  
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   Important Dates 

January 4– March 1, 2010 

Assessment Grievance (Appeal) Filing Period 

January 3, 2011 

Closing of Exemptions Filing Period for the  

2011-2012 Assessment Roll 

 

REMINDER 

Please contact the Department of 

Assessment before you change the 

name on your deed or certificate of 

shares or are changing your place 

of residence to make sure that you 

are not jeopardizing your                            
property exemptions. 

 

For Your Information 

View your property information on-line at 

mynassauproperty.com 

E-mail:  ncassessor@nassaucountyny.com 

Facts About: 



 

     

    Applications must be filed annually in the 

Nassau County Department of Assessment   

office on or before  January 3rd.     

 

    Applicants are urged to contact other     

designated local officials and assessing     

jurisdictions to confirm the taxable status 

dates for cities and villages. 

 

     For further information, or to obtain a 

copy of the application to file for the     

Volunteer Firefighters and Volunteer     
Ambulance Workers Exemption in Nassau 

County, please contact the Department of   

Assessment at (516) 571-1500.  

 

          

 

 

 

 

 

 

     Upon adoption and approval by the county, 

city, town, village and school district, the    

primary residence owned by an enrolled   

member of an incorporated volunteer fire   

company, fire department or ambulance     

service will be granted a partial exemption 

from municipal/ school taxes and special ad 

valorem tax levies, so long as the property 

owner has been a member for at least five (5) 

years.  Nassau County offers a lifetime      

exemption to members with over 20 years of 

volunteer service. 
      

    In addition, under local option, the        

unremarried spouse of a deceased member of 

a volunteer fire company, fire department or 

ambulance company already receiving the   

exemption and having at least 20 years of  

active service or the unremarried spouse of a 

member of a volunteer fire company, fire     

department or volunteer ambulance service 

killed in the line of duty (and is  already    

receiving the exemption) is  eligible. 
      

     In Nassau County, the exemption equals 

10% of the assessed value of the property.  

Exemption calculations vary by assessing   

jurisdiction under New York State Real     

Property Tax Law Section  466-c.  Contact your 

local taxing authority for details. 

 

 
 

Ownership Requirements:  

  The property must be owned by an        

enrolled and certified member of an         

incorporated  volunteer fire company, fire 

department or ambulance service.  

  

Property Location Requirements:  
 

  The property must be located in a city, 

town or village that is served by the     

incorporated fire company, fire department 

or ambulance service of which the         

applicant is an enrolled member. 

 

Property Use Requirements: 

   The property must be used exclusively 

for residential purposes and be the primary   

residence of the applicant.  In the event 

that a portion of the property is not used         

exclusively for residential purposes, that 

portion is not  entitled to exemption. 

 

        

 

 

 
 

*  An applicant must be certified as an     

enrolled member of the incorporated           

volunteer fire company, fire department or       

ambulance service for at least five (5) 

years and are required to renew each 

year; or, if allowed by  local option, be eli-

gible for a lifetime exemption with twenty 

(20) years of service.    

 

*  The certification by the incorporated    

volunteer fire company, fire department or   

ambulance service must be provided to the 

assessor by the taxable status date of     

January 3. 

 

*  Proof of ownership of the property needs 

to be filed with the initial application (e.g. 

deed).  The assessor also requires         

additional documentation to determine the     

applicant’s primary residence (e.g. car    

registration, New York State Income Tax  

Return).   

 

     

    

 

Para asistencia en  

Español llame al  

(516) 571-2020. 
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