Butehorn Brothers Post 4987 VFW

Holds Voice of Democracy Awards

            (Mineola, NY)  Commander Francis Meehan and members of Butehorn Brothers Post #4987 VFW were recently joined by Nassau County Clerk Maureen O’Connell and County Legislator Edward Mangano for their annual Voice of Democracy Awards.  Since 1974, the Butehorn Brothers Post has sponsored this essay competition for area elementary, middle and high school students.  Each year students are given a theme on which to write dealing with the importance of our Great Nation’s principals of freedom and patriotism, that have long been fought for by our veterans.  Pictured with members of the VFW and Voice of Democracy organizer Commander Francis Meehan are the honorees and their teachers, Clerk O’Connell and Legislator Mangano.  Congratulations to all the honorees and special thanks to our veterans!

PHOTO 1 – JFK Middle School

Luke Norris, Rima Madan, Olivia Bologna, Ariana Cassiere, Anthony Coletta, Carl O’Brien, Priya Shah, Ginamarie Galletti, Alyssa Trebitz

PHOTO 2 – Plainedge Middle School

Terrence Dennis McSweeney, Sara Pepkin, Sari Marissa Weisenberg, Olivia Colon, Thomas Donald Marigliano, Nicole Palomba, Michelle Anne DelRe, Deepika Dhawan, Kara D’Amico

PHOTO 3 – John H. West Elementary School

Nicholas Schleith, Gianna Varotta, Sara Stephens

PHOTO 4 – Kramer Lane Elementary School

Stephanie D’Elia, Nicholas Castanza, Victoria Vaglica

PHOTO 5 – Eastplain Elementary School

Jonathan Rosenberg, Valerie Cirisano, Matthew Dougherty, Mrs. O’Brien (Principal)

PHOTO 6 – Charles Campage Elementary School

Nikita Goyal, Morgan Appleton, Charles Perry

PHOTO 7 – Central Boulevard Elementary School

Mark Bellando, Jennie Sabello, Cheyenne Dane

PHOTO 8 – Bethpage High School

Sanjay Narasiwodeyar, Daniel Zirkel, Joseph Giordano

PHOTO 9 – Eastplain Elementary School

Melissa McCormick – Teach of the Year Award recipient