

NASSAU COUNTY DEPARTMENT OF ASSESSMENT

2015-2016 BASIC STAR Property Tax Exemption Application

(Nassau County does not charge a fee to file this application.)

Any alteration of this application may result in a denial.

								FOR OFFICE USE ONLY	TOWN SD
								ONLY	D
☐ Owner	rship (A copy	of the lates	st Deed; n	ot the mortgage)					SEC
Names of ALL Owners (as recorded on Deed)			Date of Birth	Marital Stati	us Social Security Numbe	r			
b)									BLK
c)									
Property A	Address								
			Deed (Page) # (If Known)		umber	Telephone Number Evening			LOT
Cooperativ	ve Apartment	_	_	Corporat	ERTIFICATE				CA# or BLDG#
Property Identification					For Condomin	niums & Co-ops Only		For Co	3LDC
Town	School Dist.	Section	Block	Lot	CA# or Bldg#	Tax Unit#		Condo's	#
A Basic ST and you reexemption	this application CAR Application must notify (s) on a previous	on.) on must be the Assessor ous residence	re-filed wor, in wi ce <u>prior</u> t	when your prima riting within 60	ary residence <u>or</u> O days of the of application. Th	of your proof of residence method to the property checked to the property checked at each of transfer, to remove the exemption is not transfer and t	e any	& Co-ops Only	TAX UNIT#
I (We) certif primary residustion	y that all of the dence. I (We) u (we) relocate t	above inform nderstand it is to another pr	nation mad is my (our) imary resi	obligation to prodence. I (We) und	vide any documer lerstand that any	rect and that the property listed abutation of eligibility that is reque willfully false statements of faction New York State Beal Property	sted and to t will be g	o not grour	ify th
Signature		exemption i	or a period	of five years and		in New York State Real Property Date	Tax Law.	•	
January 2, 2		he extremely	large vol			of Assessment on or before the seed by this Department, it is re			
** <u>Senior C</u>	itizen Homeow	mers (65 or o	older): If	your income qua	lifies, you may be	e eligible for the <i>Enhanced STA</i>	R Exempt	tion.	
THIS SPAC	CE IS FOR ASSI	ESSOR'S USE	E ONLY						
Proof of C	Ownership	Yes	☐ No	Approved	Yes	□ No			
	oof of Primary Residence								

OVERVIEW

The New York State *BASIC School Tax Relief (STAR) Program* provides an exemption from school taxes for owner-occupied, primary residences of one, two or three-family homes, mobile homes, farm homes, condominiums, cooperative apartments or multiple use properties of which a portion is used, by the owner, as a primary residence.

The *BASIC STAR Exemption* is for all homeowners, regardless of age whose income is less than \$500,000, including senior citizens whose income does not qualify for the *Enhanced STAR*. You must re-file for *Basic STAR* when your primary residence or the Deed to the property changes. You must notify the Assessor, *in writing within 60 days of the date of transfer*, to remove any exemption(s) on a previous residence <u>prior</u> to filing a new application. This exemption is <u>not</u> transferable. Homeowners are eligible to receive only <u>one</u> *STAR Exemption* within New York State.

APPLICATION INSTRUCTIONS

- 1. Fill out the application **completely**. If not already pre-printed, enter your name, address and property identification. **Failure to provide a Social Security number may cause your application to be denied**.
- 2. Name on the Deed or Certificate of Shares **must** correspond with the name on the application. If the name does not match, proof of ownership (*i.e. Probated Will; Trust; etc.*) must be submitted.
- 3. Attach a copy of the deed. Cooperative apartment owners must attach a copy of the **Certificate of Shares**.
- 4. Attach a copy of proof of primary residence (i.e. Car Registration; Voter Registration Card; 2013 NYS Income Tax Return; Driver's License; Non-Driver's Identification Card.) Proof of residency must show the current address as listed above.
- 5. If the property is in a Life Estate, the Life Estate holder <u>must</u> sign and supply the proof of residency.
- 6. A copy of the <u>Probated</u> Will (*If the owner(s) on the Deed is (are) deceased*)
- 7. A copy of the entire Trust (*If the property has been placed in a Trust*)

<u>Caution</u>: Anyone who misrepresents his or her primary residence may be subject to penalty of either one hundred dollars or twenty percent of the improperly received tax savings, whichever is greater, with such fine not to exceed two thousand five hundred dollars. Additionally, such individual will be prohibited from receiving the *STAR Exemption* for five years, and may be subject to criminal prosecution.

The completed application must be filed with the Nassau County Department of Assessment on or before the taxable status date of **January 2, 2015**.

Para asistencia en Español llame al (516) 571-2020

NASSAU COUNTY DEPARTMENT OF ASSESSMENT 240 OLD COUNTRY ROAD, 4th FLOOR MINEOLA, NEW YORK 11501 (516) 571-1500

Rev. 1/14 NC-425